April 18, 2016

Mason County Finance Committee Meeting Minutes

Meeting called to order at 9:00 a.m.

Members Present: Lisa Frazier, Treasurer; Terri Jefferys, Commissioner; Karen Herr, Auditor Guests: Randy Neatherlin, Commissioner; Tim Sheldon, Commissioner, Frank Pinter, Budget Manager

This meeting was scheduled to re-address the proposed Interfund loan from ER&R (Equipment Rental & Revolving fund) to Current Expense for funding hand-held radios and vehicles for the Sheriff's Office.

Lisa Frazier opened the meeting by stating that there was an adjustment to cash made in the 13th month to restate the Interfund Bond Investment as an Interfund loan – thus lowering the county's unencumbered cash balance accordingly for year-end 2015.

At the last finance meeting in April, Lisa stated that she preferred all pertinent parties be in agreement as to the specifics of the loan prior to approval. Discussion ensued on whether an agreement had been reached. Frank Pinter, Budget Manager, stated he had not yet met with the Sheriff's office to resolve their issues with the loan.

Comm. Sheldon was disappointed that the Sheriff and/or personnel was not in attendance to provide input on this issue. He recommended scheduling another briefing with the Sheriff's office on this matter. All Commissioners were in agreement.

Discussion also ensued on a proposed budget amendment to the Sheriff's Current Expense fund specifically for the Interfund loan payment. Com. Jefferys asked whether the finance committee members could approve the Interfund loan and amend the budget a later date. Comm. Neatherlin asked Lisa Frazier for her recommendation. Lisa Frazier recommended having all the issues resolved and the budget amendments approved prior to any approval of this Interfund loan.

Comm. Jefferys made the motion to table the approval of the Inter fund loan until the next scheduled quarterly finance meeting in May. Karen Herr seconded the motion. Motion carried 3 yea 0 nay.

Meeting adjourned at 9:22 a.m.

Minutes submitted by Karen Herr, Secretary of Finance committee