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SHERIFFS &
POLIGE GHIEFS

Firearms in Washington State—Changes Effective July 1, 2019

Laws and regulations related to firearms in Washington
State will change in 2019 as a result of voter-approved
I-1639, legislative changes and processing changes from

. . . . NICS  National Instant Criminal Background Check System —
NICS. This guide is designed to assist local law Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
enforcement to better understand how changes impact FEL
their operations. It does not contain legal advice or
guidance. WASPC recommends you contact your own
legal counsel with detailed questions.

Key Terms

LLE Local law enforcement

Federal firearms licensee
DOL  Washington Department of Licensing
CPL Concealed Pistol License — issued by local law enforcement

SARs  Semi-Automatic Assault Rifles — defined by RCW 9.41.010

Possession
1-1639, Section 13
* Persons under 21 cannot purchase SARs. Changes
¢ Persons 18-21 may possess SARs only in place of abode, fixed place of gt(e:\\/li\{a\?\;ilc.\%\??or
business, on property under his/her control, or moving/transferring. exceptions
Effective 01/01/19
Background Checks
Local law enforcement will be responsible for background checks on all 1-1639. Section 16
pistol (per NICS process change) and semi-automatic assault rifle (per Changes

I-1639) background checks beginning 07/01/19. Based on 2018 totals RCW 9.41.010

I‘ of NICS background checks, statewide LLE may be responsible for
between 75,000 and 120,000 SAR background checks annually starting
in 2019.

Background Check
Responsibility (07/01/19)

Semi-Automatic Other
Non-SAR Long Gun Assault Rifle (frame, receiver, etc.)

Local Law Local Law
Enforcement Enforcement

Initiative 1639: https://www.sos.wa.gov/_assets/elections/initiatives/finaltext_1531.pdf

WA Attorney General FAQs: http://www.atg.wa.gov/initiative-1639

WA Department of Licensing (Firearms): https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/firearms/index.html

WA State Patrol (Criminal History): http://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/criminal-history/

NICS Courtesy Check Letter: https://waspc.memberclicks.net/assets/GeneralFirearms/NICS%20Courtesy%20Check%20Letter.pdf

*On June 22, 2019, NICS issued a communication to WA FFLS indicating that the background check for items in the "other" category will be processed by NICS until July 1, 2020. The delay of
the "other" NICS check transition will allow for possible changes in state statute clarifying responsibilities. This is a change from the previous communication dated April 26, 2019.
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Training

There can be no sale or delivery of a semiautomatic assault rifle without proof
of training in the last five years. The purchaser or transferee of a SAR need only
present a training certification that declares under the penalty of perjury that
the training included minimum requirements prescribed in the law to the dealer
to satisfy this requirement. This is not part of the background check process.

Waiting Period

&

Storage

Establishes criminal liability for not storing firearms safely, exemptions if
secure gun storage or a trigger lock or if in self-defense. No criminal act if
theft of firearm is reported to law enforcement within 5 days.

FFL may not deliver a SAR until 10 business days after purchase or
application. Transfers — 10 days from initiation of background check.

FFLs are required to offer a storage device or trigger lock to purchase/transfer
any firearm, and warning signs must be conspicuously posted.

Annual Verification of Eligibility

DOL, in coordination with WSP and local law enforcement, is to develop a
process to verify owners of pistols and semiautomatic assault rifles remain
eligible to possess a firearm under state and federal law. Effective within
12 months of the July 1, 2019 effective date.

Fee

e I-1639 establishes a fee of up to $25 to be paid by the purchaser of an SAR.
v\, Revenue from the funds may be used to offset the state's cost of meeting its
A — obligations; the health care authority, mental health institutions and other

health care facilities for state-mandated costs; and local law enforcement
agencies for state-mandated local costs. Funds generated by the fee may only
be spent pursuant to appropriation. The 2019 Legislature appropriated funds
for state costs associated with I1-1639, but not local costs. Accordingly, DOL has
determined the fee to be $18.

Single Point System

o State may establish a single point background check system but not
required per |-1639.

e HB 1949, which passed the 2019 legislative session, requires a feasibility
».  study to examine and make recommendations regarding the establishment
of a single point of contact firearm background check system. Study due to
legislature by December 1, 2019.

1-1639, Section 3
Changes
RCW 9.41.090

1-1639, Section 4
Changes
RCW 9.41.092

1-1639, Section 5
Creates
RCW 9.41.360

1-1639, Section 6
Creates
RCW 9.41.365

1-1639, Section 15
Creates
RCW 9.41

1-1639, Section 3
Changes
RCW 9.41.090

1-1639, Section 3
Changes

RCW 9.41.090
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