NEWS RELEASE August 9, 2005

MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS 411 NORTH 5[™] ST SHELTON, WA 98584 (360) 427-9670 EXT. 419

TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN

RE: Mason Community Foundation Meeting

Mason County has been actively engaged in developing an economic component and a historic preservation plan as part of the 2005 update to our comprehensive plan.

Although no one knows for sure what the needs of our community will be in 20, 50, or 100 years, we do know that tomorrow's leaders will face a world with new challenges. For our children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren to be able to solve local problems with local solutions, they will need the local sources to do so. A community foundation aims to build a charitable endowment just for this purpose.

We invite interested citizens to an informational presentation on <u>Wednesday</u>, <u>August 17th</u> <u>at 7 p.m. at the Colonial House</u>, <u>215 North 3rd Street</u>, <u>Shelton</u> to learn more about establishing a Mason Community Foundation.

We are very pleased to have Dr. James Zuiches of the Washington State University Department of Community and Rural Sociology give an overview of how a successful community foundation could help us realize our vision for the future.

We will also hear from Nancy Hales, the president of the Community Foundation of Southwest Washington. The Honorable Mark Linquist, Wahkiakum County Commissioner, and Karen Bertroch, Wahkiakum Community Foundation Executive Director, will also be on hand to share their personal story of how the Wahkiakum Community Foundation has aided their small rural county.

Please join us in this important opportunity to learn how the establishment of a Mason Community Foundation might allow us to build on the strengths of our past and provide the resources necessary to inspire the leaders of the 21st century.

BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Jayni L. Kamin Chairperson Lynda Ring Erickson Commissioner Tim Sheldon Commissioner