PRESS RELEASE March 22, 2005

MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS 411 NORTH 5^{TH} ST SHELTON, WA 98584 (360) 427-9670 EXT. 419

TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN

RE: Spring Dump Vouchers

The voucher program started this past October instead of Free Dump Day was a big success. Our citizens appreciated the chance to take their materials out to the Shelton Transfer Facility when it was most convenient for them. Therefore, we are continuing the voucher program for our annual Spring Cleanup. Vouchers will be available for pickup beginning April 2nd at the Mason County Utilities and Waste building (County Building 2, 410 N. 4th St) in Shelton and at the Theler Center in Belfair (22871 NE State Route 3). You may pick up your vouchers beginning at 8:00 AM Saturday, April 2, 2005. A total of 500 vouchers will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis, limited to one voucher per household. Proof of residency in the form of a driver's license or other government issued identification is required to receive a voucher. The voucher expires on June 5th, giving residents more than 60 days to redeem the voucher.

The following wastes will be accepted with a voucher: up to ten, off-rim passenger tires, scrap metal, appliances, furniture, yard debris, and empty propane tanks. The voucher is good for one single load with a standard size pickup truck or equivalent. Loads larger than this will not be accepted without charge. No commercial waste will be accepted with a voucher.

Tires, scrap metal, yard waste, appliances, propane tanks, recyclables, and reusable items such as bicycles or furniture should be separated from the rest of your materials and placed on top or at the back of your load so that they can be removed first.

As in years past during Free Dump Days, we will be collecting nonperishable food items for donation to the Food Bank Alliance. Please bring a nonperishable food item when you pick up your voucher.

BOARD OF MASON	COUNTY COMMISSIONERS	
Jayni Kamin	Lynda Ring Erickson	Tim Sheldon
Chairperson	Commissioner	Commissioner