## NEWS RELEASE March 8, 2005

## MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS 411 NORTH $5^{TH}$ ST SHELTON, WA 98584 (360) 427-9670 EXT. 419

TO: KMAS, KRXY, SHELTON-MASON COUNTY JOURNAL, THE OLYMPIAN, SHELTON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, NORTH MASON CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, CITY OF SHELTON, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL, THE SUN

RE: Mason County Adopts Public Participation Plan

In 2005, Mason County will review and update its comprehensive plan and implementing development regulations to ensure compliance with the Washington State Growth Management Act (GMA). Effective public participation is at the heart of a public action such as this update of the county comprehensive plan. To maximize public involvement, the Mason County Board of Commissioners has adopted a Public Participation Plan designed to inform the public and guide the public process so that the process is a success.

The Plan provides a brief introduction of the update process along with a discussion of the work program for the Comprehensive Plan update. It also asks for public suggestions for Comprehensive Plan amendments not already required by the GMA. These suggestions and rezone requests are due by May 1, 2005. Guidelines for submitting suggestions are provided in the Public Participation Plan. In addition, the Public Participation Plan provides a preliminary schedule of project phases, and public meetings and community open houses. Public meeting dates will be announced as they are scheduled.

There are community open houses scheduled as follows:

March 29<sup>th</sup>, 2005, 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. PUD #3, 307 W. Cota Street, Shelton

April 4<sup>th</sup>, 4:00-6:00 p.m. Mary E. Theler Community Center 22871 NE State Route 3, Belfair

A copy of the Public Participation Plan can be obtained by visiting the Mason County website at www.co.mason.wa.us or hard copies can be obtained from the Belfair, Hoodsport, and Shelton Timberland Library System branch, and from the Department of Community Development, 426 W. Cedar Street, Shelton or by calling (360) 427-9670, ext. 286.

For additional information, you may contact Barbara A. Adkins, AICP, at 427-9670, Ext. 286.		
BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS		
Jayni Kamin Chairperson	Lynda Ring Erickson Commissioner	Tim Sheldon Commissioner