Resolution No. 117-08 Counties & Schools Coalition

Purpose: Designating 15% to 20% of the Safety Net Full Payment Amount to be Allocated to Local Projects and specifying the percentage of funding to be allocated to Title II and III Projects.

Whereas forest counties having United States National Forests within their boundaries have received Forest Reserve payments for roads and schools under the terms of the Agricultural Reapportionment Act of 1908; and

Whereas these receipts were a regular but cyclical source of revenue for schools and counties during most of the last century; and

Whereas federal land policies during the past decade have shifted away from multiple use land management; and

Whereas Congress has recognized that these policy shifts have negatively impacted local communities and the health of our National Forests; and

Whereas Congress has passed PL 110-343 – Sect. 601(a), Division C which seeks to reconnect local communities with decisions made on their national forests and invest in improving the health of our forests and watersheds; and

Whereas PL 110-343 makes provisions for safety net payments to counties for up to four (4) years with either 15% to 20% of these funds being allocated to projects which would enhance the health and safety of US National Forests.

Be it therefore resolved that Mason County, which has elected to receive safety net payments under the provisions of PL 110-343, hereby designates 20% (15% to 20%) of its safety net payments to be allocated to Title II or Title III projects under this legislation; and

Be it further resolved that Mason County intends to allocate its' designated project funds in the following proportions:

Title II funds13%Title III funds7%

* If your total SRSCA funding exceeds \$350,000, then a maximum of 7% may be assigned to Title III.

** Please review the new Title III guidelines before completing this resolution.

Be it further resolved that this election be communicated to the Governor's office and the Regional Forester's office by November 10, 2008; and

Resolution <u>No. 117-08</u> Page two of two

Be it further resolved that this action be communicated to all jurisdictions in this county which receive Forest Reserve payments.

BOARD OF MASON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Signed: Chair Tim Sheldon Amaly an Kine Commissioner Lynda Ring Erickson

Commissioner Ross Gallagher

ATTEST: ulucia Dologen

Rebecca S. Rogers, Clerk of the Board

Date: 14/4/2008