The Board of County Commissioners is the county's legislative authority. The commissioners serve as the chief administrators for several important county operations and have some quasi-judicial duties, as well.

The three county commissioners are elected to four-year terms. The County is divided into three districts on the basis of population and at the time of election each commissioner must live in and represent his/her district. The commissioners are partisan and are nominated in a primary election embracing only their particular district. All the voters in the county are given an opportunity in the general election to select the commissioner who will ultimately serve.

The commissioners meet on the first, second and third Tuesday of each month beginning at 9:00 a.m. and on the fourth Tuesday of each month beginning at 6:00 p.m. A chair is elected to preside over these meetings at the beginning of each year.